Add Or Edit Users

Over the next few weeks, we will be updating our user interface to make it more consistent. The icons, buttons, fonts, formatting, and colors that appear in the screenshots below will be temporarily out of date.

Add or edit users from the User Management page.

User Management larger page Oct 13 2017

To add or edit a user:

  1. Go to Settings > User Management.
    Add: Click Add New User.
    Edit: Find the user you would like to edit and click Edit.
    Administrators need the Update Users user permission. 

    Edit User Oct 13 2017
  2. Type or edit First Name. (Mandatory field.)
  3. Type or edit Last Name. (Mandatory field.)
  4. Type or edit Email (Login). (Mandatory field.)
    Email (Login) is used for logging into Plutora and for lost passwords. Each user must have a unique email address. 
  5. Type or edit Email Address (Notifications). (Mandatory field.)
    Email Address (Notifications) email can be the same email as Email (Login) but otherwise must be unique and not already used by another user. Email notifications are sent to this address and users can update this address from Update Profile
  6. Type their Phone Number.
  7. Select their Location.
     The Email Address (Notifications), Phone Number, and Location fields are now editable by administrators. Previously, they could only be edited by Users updating their Profile.
  8. Select a Portfolio Association from the drop down menu.
    A user’s Portfolio Association indicates the part of the organization to which they belong. When adding a Portfolio Association to a record (such as a Release) a user can only select from the Portfolio Association they belong to and sub levels of that Portfolio Association.  
  9. Manage Roles:
    1. Add: Select one or more Roles. (Mandatory field.)
      Users can have more than one User Role.
    2. Remove: Click the X beside the Role.
  10. Manage User Groups:
    1. Add: Select one or more User Groups from the drop down menu. (Optional.)
    2. Remove: Click the X beside the User Group.
      A User Group that is associated with a selected Role cannot be removed. If removed, it will reappear again after saving.
  11. While editing (but not adding) a User, you can select a Status:
    • Active:
      • The user can log into Plutora, unless toggled off in Allow Login.
      • Email notifications will be sent.
    • Inactive:
      • This status closes the account for a user that has left the company.
      • The user cannot log into Plutora.
      • Email notifications will no longer be sent.
  12. Select a user timeout date:
    • Indefinite: The user account will never timeout:
      • This is the default option when adding a new user.
    • Valid until:
      1. Click to select the Valid until radio button.
      2. Click to select a date.
      3. At 12 am (00:00) on that date, the user’s status will become Inactive and the user will be unable to log into Plutora.
  13. Under Advanced:
    1. Receive Notifications: This toggle switch is not editable. Users with an Active status can always receive notifications.  Inactive users have notifications turned off.
    2. Allow Login: Toggle whether users with an Active status can log into Plutora. Active users will always receive email notifications, even when they cannot log into Plutora.
      When the new Add Stakeholder-Only User user permission is activated, users can be created using the new Add New User button in Deployment Plan and added as a Deployment Plan stakeholder. Users added in this way can be managed like any other user of Plutora.
  14. Click Save & Close.

Back to the top arrow

Was this article helpful?

1 found this helpful.