Add Or Edit Changes

A Change is a request to deliver new functionality or to make updates to existing functionality, within a Release or Project. A Change lists the technical aspects of a functional change to a System and includes impacts, timings, approvals, and Stakeholders.

Users can add and edit Changes on the Change page. Users can also duplicate a ChangeBulk Lock Or Unlock Changes, or Delete Changes.

To view the Change workflow:

Change Workflow

Workflows allow administrators to control the way Changes are processed. Using the Change Status Customization, administrators can set:

  • The sequence of Change Statuses for each Change Type.
  • The User Groups or User Roles that have permission to update each Change Status.

For instance, a Change Type might have a workflow based on the Change Statuses: Draft > Active > Complete. All User Roles might have permission to change the Change Status from Draft to Active (using the Status drop-down menu) but only a Manager User Role might have permission to change the Change Status from Active to Complete. This workflow allows managers to check each Change before it is completed.

If the Enable Change Workflow checkbox is selected in Change Status Customization, users can click Expand Workflow to view the Change’s workflow path. Clicking Collapse Workflow  hides the workflow.

Add or Edit Change

To add or edit a Change:

Change Information

  1. Add:
    1. By + New:
      1. Go to + New > Other > Change.
    2. By Change Manager:
      1. Go to Release > Change.
      2. Click + New Change.
  2.  Edit:
    1. Go to Release > Change.
    2. Click the blue-linked ID or Name to open a Change.
  3. Type a Name in the Change Information tab in the Information panel.
  4. Click to select a Portfolio Association.
  5. Type a Description.
  6. Manage Linked Changes:
    Users can now GET and PUT Linked Changes through the API.

    1. Add a Linked Change:
      1. Click to select a relationship link from the + Add Link drop-down menu:
        Click Save if you are adding a Change and Linked Changes is grayed out. Only users with the Edit Change permission can add or remove Linked Changes.

        Available relationships are:
        • Relates to.
        • Parent to.
        • Child of.
          A Linked Change can be related and a parent, or related and a child, but it cannot be a parent AND a child.
      2. Click the combo box and click to select the checkboxes of one or more Changes.
      3. Click the green cross button to add the Linked Change or Changes. 
    2. Remove a linked Change by clicking the white X.

      1. Click Yes to confirm.
  7. Fill in the fields under the Additional information panel and tabs:
    • This panel has replaced the Additional Information tab. The fields have been added by administrators using the Change Custom Fields Customization and they will vary between each Plutora installation.
    • If a Change Additional Information field appears in more than one tab, it will remember the last information added.
    • Please consult your administrator for the procedure for filling in these fields.
      If a user lacks permission to see a custom field tab’s fields, that tab will be hidden for that user. (The permission is set in Change Custom Fields Customization.)
  8. Select a Change Status from the Status drop-down menu in the Details panel.
    Change Status is customized using the Change Status Customization.
  9. Select a Change Theme from the Theme drop-down menu.
    Change Theme is customized using the Change Theme Customization.
  10. Select a Change Type from the Type drop-down menu.
    Change Type is customized using the Change Type Customization.
  11. Select a Delivery Risk from the Delivery Risk drop-down menu.
    Change Delivery Risk is customized using the Change Delivery Risk Customization.
  12. Select a Priority from the Priority drop-down menu.
    Priority is customized using the Change Priority Customization.
  13. Select a business value score from the Business Value Score drop-down menu.
  14. Select the person who raised the Change from the Raised by drop-down menu in the People panel.
    The Owner field will be managed under the Stakeholder tab. See below.
  15. Select a User or User Group from the Assigned To drop-down menu.
    Previously, users had to be added as stakeholders to a Change record before they could receive notification emails about updates to that record. Now, users or User Groups can be added to the Assigned To field and receive email notifications without being stakeholders.
  16. In the Date panel:
    1. Raised on: A system-generated field with the date that the Change was raised.
    2. Implementation date: This date is taken from the Release under the Delivery Release tab (see below) which has the Actual Delivery Release checkbox checked.
    3. Expected delivery date: Select the expected delivery date.
  17. Manage Attachments:
    1. Add a file:
      1. Select Add File from the Add New drop-down menu.
      2. Select a file and click Open.
        The attachment uploads and appears as a circular icon.
    2. Add a URL:
      1. Select Add URL from the Add New drop-down menu.
      2. Type a valid URL in the Please enter a valid URL  field.
      3. Click Save & Close.
    3. View an attachment:
      1. Click the view button.
      2. Click the X in the top right corner to close the attachment.
    4. Download an attachment:
      1. Click the download button.
        Your attachment should start downloading immediately.
        Save the file to your hard drive if prompted.
    5. Delete an attachment:
      1. Click the delete button.
      2. Click Delete on the confirmation prompt to confirm.
  18. Click Save.

Stakeholders tab

Manage Stakeholders associated with your Change in the Stakeholders tab. For more information, see Manage Change Stakeholders.

Systems tab

Add Systems on this tab to indicate the impacted Systems by your Change. For more information, see Manage Change Systems.

Delivery Release tab

Delivery Release tab shows the list of Releases that have the following associations:

  • Release <–> System
    AND
  • System <–> Change

For more details, see Manage Delivery Release.

Linked Items

Linked Items tab shows the TECRs that have had this Change record dragged and dropped into the Change connected to TECR panel under the Linked Change tab in TECRs. For more details, see Manage Linked Items.

Comments tab

The comments tab allows users to comment on the Change and answer other user’s comments.

To add a comment:

  1. Type your comment into the Enter comment here field.
  2. Click Send.

To edit a comment:

  1. Click Edit on the comment.
  2. Edit the comment.
  3. Click Update.

To reply to a comment:

  1. Click Reply on the comment.
  2. Type your reply.
  3. Click Reply.

Delete a comment:

  1. Click Delete on the comment.
  2. Click Yes.

Save & Close

Save and close your Change.

  1. Click Save & Close.
    Save & Close will be grayed out if the Change is locked. 

Lock and Unlock Changes

Change records can now be locked or unlocked by users with the Lock Change user permission. Locked Change records cannot be edited or deleted.

This means:

  • Administrators can prevent completed records from being edited.
  • Users editing the same record cannot save over each other’s edits.
  • Bulk update will not save over any record currently being edited.
  • Bulk delete will not delete any records currently being edited.

To lock or unlock a Change record (if you have the  Lock Change user permission):

To lock or unlock Change records in bulk, see Bulk Lock Or Unlock Changes.

To lock or unlock a single Change record:

    1. Go to Release > Change.
    2. Click to open a Change.
  1. Click the lock button in the top-right corner to toggle between locked and unlocked states.

    Locked records will be grayed out. Locked records will remain uneditable until a user with the Lock Change user permission unlocks them.

View Audit History

Click the clock-shaped button  to view the Audit History of the record.

Audit History now contains the history of when the Change record was locked or unlocked.

Copy URL to Clipboard

Users can copy a Change’s URL to the clipboard by clicking the Copy to Clipboard button on the top right of the pop up.

Related Articles

Contents

Be the first to find out about new features. Subscribe to the Release Notes email.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your answer!