User Custom Fields Customization

User Custom Fields appear under the Additional Information tab when adding or editing a user on the User Management page. Also see User Custom Lists.

Add or Edit a User Custom Field

To add or edit a User Custom Field:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Add or edit:
    1. Add:
      1. Click Add Field.
    2. Edit:
      1. Click to select the User Custom Field.
      2. Click Edit Field.
  4. Type the User Custom Field under the Value column.
    Custom Fields with double quotes ” or square brackets [] in the Value cannot be added to Plutora Analytics workbooks
  5. Double click the Description column and type the Description.
  6. Click to select one of the following Description Display radio buttons:
    If Description is blank, nothing will display, even if a radio button is selected. 

    1. As Tooltip: The description will appear as a tooltip when users hover their mouse cursor over the i button beside the custom field label.
    2. Under Label: The description will appear as text under the custom field label. The description will also appear as a tooltip when users hover their mouse cursor over the description.
  7. Double click the Data Type column and select the Data Type of the field from the drop-down menu:

  8. Double click under Tab Parent and select which tab the field should appear under from the drop-down menu.
  9. Double click under Group Fields and select which group the field should appear inside from the drop-down menu.
  10. Manage Field Permissions: Field Permissions set the view, edit, and hide permissions for each field.
    1. Click the checkbox beside Access Permissions to activate permissions.
    2. Click Access Permissions.
    3. Select from the Select the permission type you would like to change drop-down menu:
      • View Value: Field is always visible but users without the permission see a padlock.
        Field is locked
      • Edit Value:  Field is always visible and users with the permission can edit the field.
      • View Custom Field: Field is completely hidden to users without the permission.
        If a user lacks permission to see a tab’s fields, that tab will now be hidden for that user.
    4. Select from the By: drop-down menu:
      • Individual: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more users.
      • Organization: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more organizations or Portfolio Associations.
      • Role: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more roles.
      • User Group: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more User Groups.
    5. Click Save & Close.
  11. Click to select the Mandatory checkbox if the field is mandatory for users to fill in.
  12. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

Add, Edit, or Delete Tabs

To manage custom field tabs on the Additional Information panel on the User pop up:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Click Add/Edit Tabs.
  4. Perform one of the following actions:
    1. Add:
      1. Click Add.
      2. Type the tab name.
    2. Edit:
      1. Double click, then edit the tab name.
    3. Delete:
      1. Click to select the tab.
      2. Click Remove.
  5. Close the pop up by clicking the X at the top-right corner.

 

Add, Edit, or Delete Groupings

To manage custom field groups on the Additional Information panel on the User pop up:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Click Add/Edit Grouping.
  4. Perform one of the following actions:
    1. Add:
      1. Click Add.
      2. Type the new grouping.
      3. Double click the Color column and select a color from the drop-down menu or enter a Hex value.
    2. Edit:
      1. Double click, then edit the grouping
      2. Double click the Color column and select a color from the drop-down menu or enter a Hex value.
    3. Delete:
      1. Click to select the grouping.
      2. Click Remove.
  5. Click the X in the top right corner to close the pop up.

 

Bulk Update Permissions

To update the permissions of two or more User Custom Fields at once:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Click to select two or more of the checkboxes in the left-hand column.
    The Bulk Update Permissions button will be grayed out until two or more checkboxes are selected.
  4. Click Bulk Update Permissions.
  5. Select from the Select the permission type you would like to change drop-down menu:
    • View Value: Field is always visible but users without the permission see a padlock.
      Field is locked
    • Edit Value:  Field is always visible and users with the permission can edit the field.
    • View Custom Field: Field is completely hidden to users without the permission.
      If a user lacks permission to see any of the fields in a tab, they will now be unable to see that tab.
  6. Select from the By: drop-down menu:
    • Individual: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more users.
    • Organization: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more organizations or Portfolio Associations.
    • Role: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more roles.
    • User Group: Click to select the checkboxes of one or more User Groups.
  7. Click Save & Close.

 

Sort User Custom Fields

Sort Manually

Sorting User Custom Fields manually changes their order on the Additional Information tab.

Refresh your browser to sort manually after sorting alphabetically. 

To sort User Custom Fields manually:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Hover your mouse cursor over the sort column.
    The sort handle (six gray dots) appears.
  4. Left click and drag the sort handle to resort the User Custom Field.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Sort by Column Header

Sorting User Custom Fields by column header only changes their order on the Customization page.

To sort alphabetically on the Customization page by column header:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields
  3. Click a column header.
    The User Custom Fields will revert to their previous order when you click away from the Customization page.

Sort Fields Inside Tabs

To sort the fields inside tabs:

  1. Click Field Ordering.
  2. Click to select the Enable Custom Field Ordering checkbox.
  3. Click a tab.
  4. Hover your mouse cursor over the sort column.
    The sort handle (six gray dots) appears.
  5. Left click and drag the sort handle to resort items.
  6. Click Save.

 

 

Delete a User Custom Field

Deleting a User Custom Field will not delete it from Plutora. But it will no longer be available when creating new Users.

To delete a User Custom Field:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Users.
  2. Click User Custom Fields.
  3. Click to select the User Custom Field.
  4. Click Delete Field.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

 

Back to the top arrow

Be the first to find out about new features. Subscribe to the Release Notes email. Subscribe Now

Was this article helpful?

0 found this helpful.