Change Status Customization

Users select Change Statuses when adding or editing a change on the Change Manager page.

Change Status


To add a Change Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click Add Change Status.
  4. Type the new Change Status.
  5. Click to select the Default checkbox if the item is default.
  6. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

To edit a Change Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click to select the Change Status.
  4. Click Edit Change Status.
  5. Edit the Change Status.
  6. Click to select or deselect the Default checkbox.
  7. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

Sort Manually

Sorting Change Statuses manually changes their order in drop down menus.

Refresh your browser to sort manually after sorting alphabetically. 

To sort Change Statuses manually:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Hover your mouse cursor over the left of the Change Status under the column with a white hand in the header.
    The sort handle (ten gray dots) appears.
    Sort Handle.
  4. Left click and drag the sort handle to resort the Change Status.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Sort by Column Header

Sorting Change Statuses by column header only changes their order on the Customization page.

To sort alphabetically on the Customization page by column header:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click a column header.
    The Change Statuses will revert to their previous order when you click away from the Customization page.

 

Deleting a Change Status will not delete it from change records. But it will no longer be available when creating new changes.

To delete a Change Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status 
  3. Click to select the Change Status.
  4. Click Delete Change Status.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

Workflows allow users to:

  • Create a sequence of Change Statuses for each Change Type, from an initial status to completion.
  • Assign the privilege of setting that status to User Roles (Permission Roles).

If workflows are turned off, all Change Statuses will appear in the Change Status drop down menus in Change Manager. If workflows are turned on, only the Change Statuses set for that Change Type will appear.

To enable workflows:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click to select the Enable Workflow checkbox.
  4. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

Users can create workflows for each change type with assigned Permission Roles or Users for every Change Type.

Customization Change Status Workflow

To create a workflow for a Change Type:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click Open Change Workflow Diagram window.
  4. Select a Change Type.
  5. Drag and drop statuses from the Available statuses column.
  6. Make connections between status boxes by clicking and dragging the yellow button between status boxes.
    Delete connections by double clicking them. 
  7. Set Initial Status on one status box by clicking to select the triangular play button.
  8. Set the order priority of the status boxes by typing a number in the bottom right corner.
  9. Click Save.
  10. Click the cogwheel-shaped Settings button.
  11. Select an SLA Breach Time to set how much time users have to update a change’s Change Status before it is in breach.
  12. Select an SLA Breach State Color from the drop down menu.
  13. Select an SLA Breach State Font Color from the drop down menu.
  14. Select the Permission Roles that are allowed to set the status.
  15. Select the users that are allowed to set the status from Assigned To – Allow Users drop down menu.
  16. Click to select Assigned To – Exclude User Groups checkbox if required.
    Do not enter tasks in the Tasks tab. They are not used in workflows.
  17. Click Save & Close.
  18. Click Save.
  19. Close the workflow diagram pop up by clicking the X in the top right corner.
  20. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

Users can save time by copying workflows instead of recreating them from scratch.

To copy a workflow:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click Open Change Workflow Diagram window.
  4. Click Copy To.
  5. Select a Change Type from Select the Type to Copy Workflow drop down menu.
  6. Click Copy & Save. 

 

Selects which Change Status will be applied to the Changes of a Release when that Release is set to Completed. If the Change Type’s workflow has an initial status set, that status will override the default.

To set a release status to completed workflow:

  1. Go to Setting > Customization.
  2. Click Change Status.
  3. Click to select the Set Release Status to Completed Workflow checkbox.
    Selecting a checkbox will deselect the previous one.
  4. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Back to the top arrow

Was this article helpful?

0 found this helpful.