Deployment Plan Workflow

Coming in June 2024 Release.

Introduction

Deployment Plan Workflow gives you a regular insight into what is occurring within your Deployment Plan processes, the people involved, and a sense of how effectively your team meets its deadlines.

You can create workflows for each Deployment Plan Type with assigned Permission Roles or User Groups.

Pre-requisite

To be able to add and customize Deployment Plan workflow, you must have ‘Access Customizations’ User Permission. 

Settings  > Customization > Deployment Plan > Status

Create a Workflow

To create a workflow for a Deployment Plan Type:

  1. Navigate to the Customization page.
  2. Click Deployment Plan.
  3. Click Status.
  4. Click Open Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram window. ‘Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram’ dialog displays.
  1. Select a Deployment Plan Type from the drop-down.
  2. Drag and drop statuses from the Available statuses column for the workflow.
  3. Remove statuses from the workflow by clicking .

Connect the Statuses

Make connections between status boxes by clicking and dragging between status boxes.

Delete the connections by double-clicking them.

Set Initial Status (start of workflow)

Set Initial Status on one status box by clicking. Setting an initial status is mandatory. The initial status is auto-selected when you select a Type in a Deployment Plan. 

The status that you set as initial, displays ‘Start’ underneath. 

Set Status Order Priority

Set the order priority of the Status in the workflow or Status field by entering a number in the bottom right corner box:

  • Statuses must have an order priority number to appear in the workflow or the Status field.
  • Numbers must be positive integers, for example, 1, 2, 3. Zero is also acceptable.
  • Numbers must be unique. For example, if you enter 1, 2, 2, 3, only one of the ‘2′ Statuses appears in the Status drop-down menu.

Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram Options

Click at the bottom of the status box to open the ‘Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram Options’ dialog.

  • Select an SLA Breach Time to set how much time users have to move to the next Status before it is in breach.
  • Select an SLA Breach State Color from the drop-down menu.
  • Select an SLA Breach State Font Color from the drop-down menu.
  • Select the Permissions User Groups / Roles that may update the workflow.

Click .to move to the next Status


Close the dialog. After making the required changes in the workflow click .

Close the workflow diagram pop up by clicking the X in the top right corner. On the Customization page click . Your changes will be saved and a confirmation message will display.

Copy a Workflow

You can save time by copying workflows instead of recreating them from scratch.

To copy a workflow:

  1. Navigate to the Customization page.
  2. Click Deployment Plan.
  3. Click Status.
  4. Click Open Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram window. Deployment Plan Workflow Diagram’dialog displays.
  5. Click .
  6. On ‘Copy Workflow for Deployment Plan Type…’ dialog select a Deployment Plan Type from the Select Deployment Plan Types drop-down menu.
  7. Click  . Your changes will be saved and a confirmation message will display.

More Information

While copying a workflow to another, if you select a Deployment Plan Type for which a workflow exists, the following alert message displays. In this case, click if you want to overwrite the existing workflow with the copied workflow.

Related Articles

Contents

Be the first to find out about new features. Subscribe to the Release Notes email.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your answer!