Release Status Customization

Users select Release Statuses when adding or editing a Release on the Enterprise, Project, and Independent Release pop ups.

Release Statuses are found on the Details tab of the Enterprise, Project, or Independent Release pop ups.

To locate Release Statuses:

  1. Go to Releases > Release Manager.
  2. Click a blue-linked Release ID or Release Name.
  3. The Release Status drop down menu is in the first tab (ReleaseProject, or Independent) on the top right.


To add a Release Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click Add Field.
  4. Type the new Release Status Name.
  5. Click to select the Release Status End-State/s checkbox if the Release Status is an end state:
    • What is an end state? A state that is at the end of a Release life cycle. For example, Completed Releases are in an end state.
    • Multiple Releases Statuses can be end states. For example, Completed and Dropped.
    • Releases with an end state Status will not appear in drop down menus.
  6. Click to select one or more of the Default checkboxes to make the item the default selection for Enterprise Enterprise, Project Project or Independent Independent Releases.
  7. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

To edit a Release Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click to select the Release Status.
  4. Click Edit Field.
  5. Edit the Release Status Name.
  6. Click to select the Release Status End-State/s checkbox if the Release Status is an end state:
    • What is an end state? A state at the end of a workflow. For example, completed Releases are in an end state.
    • Multiple Releases Statuses can be end states. For example, Completed and Dropped.
    • Releases with an end state Status will not appear in drop down menus.
  7. Click to select one or more of the Default checkboxes to make the item the default selection for Enterprise Enterprise, Project Project or Independent Independent Releases.
  8. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

Sort Manually

Sorting Release Statuses manually changes their order in drop down menus.

Refresh your browser to sort manually after sorting alphabetically. 

To sort Release Statuses manually:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Hover your mouse cursor over the sort column.
    The sort handle (six gray dots) appears.
  4. Left click and drag the sort handle to resort the Release Status.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Sort by Column Header

Sorting Release Statuses by column header only changes their order on the Customization page.

To sort alphabetically on the Customization page by column header:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click a column header.
    The Release Status will revert to their previous order when you click away from the Customization page.

 

Deleting a Release Status will not delete it from Releases. But it will no longer be available when creating new Releases.

To delete a Release Status:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click to select the Release Status.
  4. Click Delete Field.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Workflows allow users to:

  • Create a sequence of Release Statuses for each Release Type, from an initial status to completion.
  • Assign the privilege of setting that status to User Roles (Permission Roles).

If workflows are turned off, all Release Statuses will appear in the Release Status drop down menus in Environment Requests. If workflows are turned on, only the Release Statuses set for that Release Type or the default Release Status will appear.

To enable workflows:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click to select the Enable Release Workflow checkbox.
  4. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Users can create workflows for each Release Type with assigned Permission Roles or User Groups.

To create a workflow for a Release Type:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click Open Release Workflow Diagram window.
  4. Select a Release Type.
  5. Drag and drop statuses from the Available statuses column.
  6. Make connections between status boxes by clicking and dragging the yellow button between status boxes.
    Delete connections by double clicking them.
  7. Set Initial Status on one status box by clicking to select the triangular play button.
  8. Set the order priority of the status boxes by typing a number in the bottom right corner.
  9. Click Save.
  10. Click the cogwheel-shaped Settings button.
  11. Select an SLA Breach Time to set how much time users have to update a request’s Release Status before it is in breach.
  12. Select an SLA Breach State Color from the drop down menu.
  13. Select an SLA Breach State Font Color from the drop down menu.
  14. Select the Permissions user Groups / Roles that may update the workflow.
  15. Click Save & Close.
  16. Remove statuses from the workflow by clicking the delete button.
  17. Click Save.
  18. Close the workflow diagram pop up by clicking the X in the top right corner.
  19. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Users can save time by copying workflows instead of recreating them from scratch.

To copy a workflow:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Release Status.
  3. Click Open Release Workflow Diagram window.
  4. Click Copy To.
  5. Select a Release Type from Select the Type to Copy Workflow drop down menu.
  6. Click Copy & Save.

Back to the top arrow

Was this article helpful?

0 found this helpful.