Capacity Management Customization

Capacity Management is selected when adding or editing an Enterprise, Project, and Independent Release.

Users must have the Update Release Capacity Thresholds user permission

Location of Capacity Management

Capacity Management is located in the Capacity tabs of the Enterprise, Project, and Independent Release pop ups when adding or editing a Release.

To locate the Capacity tabs:

  1. Go to Release > Release Management.
  2. Click a blue-linked Release ID or Release Name to open a Release.
  3. Click the Capacity tab:

 

Enable Capacity Management

To enable Capacity Management:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click to select the Enable Capacity Management Tracking checkbox.
  4. Type Bucket Overflow (%). (Usually 100 for 100%. Meaning that when the bucket is filled past capacity, it overflows.)
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

Edit Column Headers

Editing the column headers updates the capacity column headers Planned and Actual throughout Plutora.

To edit the column headers

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click  Edit Field.
  4. Double click to edit, then type the new Column Headers for Planned and Actual.
    Users cannot edit Description.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

Add a Capacity Management

To add a Capacity Management:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click Add Field.
  4. Type the new capacity sizing item under the Value column.
  5. Double click to edit, then select a color from the Total Bucket Shading drop-down menu or enter a Hex value.
    Green Threshold cannot be edited and is always zero.
  6. Double click to edit, then type an Amber Threshold, which is the midway mark of the bucket.
  7. Double click to edit, then type a Red Threshold, which represents when the bucket will be full.
  8. Click to select a Planned or Actual checkbox:
    • Planned: Capacity percentages are calculated as Planned divided by the Red Threshold.
    • Actual: The default. Capacity percentages are calculated as Actual divided by the Red Threshold.
  9. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

Edit a Capacity Management

Editing Capacity Management items does not change them in the Releases where they have been used, only for the next time they are used for a new Release.

To edit a Capacity Management item:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click Edit Field.
  4. Type the capacity sizing item under the Value column.
  5. Double click to edit, then select a color from the Total Bucket Shading drop-down menu or enter a Hex value.
    Green Threshold cannot be edited and is always zero.
  6. Double click to edit, then type an Amber Threshold, which is the midway mark of the bucket.
  7. Double click to edit, then type a Red Threshold, which represents when the bucket will be full.
  8. Click to select a Planned or Actual checkbox:
    • Planned: Capacity percentages are calculated as Planned divided by the Red Threshold.
    • Actual: The default. Capacity percentages are calculated as Actual divided by the Red Threshold.
  9. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

 

 

Sort Capacity Management

Sort Manually

Sorting Capacity Management items manually changes their order in menus.

Refresh your browser to sort manually after sorting alphabetically. 

To sort Capacity Management items manually:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Hover your mouse cursor over the sort column.
    The sort handle (six gray dots) appears.
  4. Left click and drag the sort handle to resort the Capacity Management.
  5. Click Submit.
    The yellow Your changes have been saved pop up opens and closes.
    If you click away from the Customization page without clicking Submit, your changes will not save.

Sort by Column Header

Sorting Capacity Management items by column header only changes their order on the Customization page.

To sort alphabetically on the Customization page by column header:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click a column header.
    The Capacity Management will revert to their previous order when you click away from the Customization page.

 

 

*NEW* Delete or Replace a Capacity Management

Deleting a Capacity Management item will not delete it from Releases records. But it will no longer be available when adding or editing a Release.

Replacing a Capacity Management item will replace it in existing Release records.

To delete or replace a Capacity Management:

  1. Go to Settings > Customization > Releases.
  2. Click Capacity Management.
  3. Click to select the Capacity Management.
  4. Click Delete Field.
  5. Choose one of the following:
    1. Delete and Replace:
      1. Select the item that will replace the deleted Capacity Management from Replace with.
      2. Click Delete and Replace.
        Your updates will be automatically saved. There is no need to click Submit.
    2. Delete:
      1. Click Delete.
        Your updates will be automatically saved. There is no need to click Submit.

 

Back to the top arrow

Be the first to find out about new features. Subscribe to the Release Notes email. Subscribe Now

Was this article helpful?

0 found this helpful.